Election Cycles – Federal, State and Local


President | 4 year term: Joseph R. Biden (D) (Vice President Kamala D. Harris), up in 2024 term; limited to 2 terms (2028)

Senator | 6 year term; Gary Peters (D), up in 2020; Debbie Stabenow (D), up in 2024

US Congressman | 2 year term: Jack Bergman(R), up in 2020



Governor | 4 year term: Gretchen Whitmer (D), up in 2022 term; limited to 2 terms(2026)

Attorney General | 4 year term: Dana Nessel (D), up in 2022 term; limited to 2 terms (2026)

Secretary of State | 4 year term: Jocelyn Benson (D), up in 2022 term; limited to 2 terms (2026)

Michigan Supreme Court | 7 justices, staggered 8 year terms; under 70 at time of election, no term limits



Chippewa County

Sheriff | 4 year term: Mike Bitnar (R), up in 2020

Prosecutor | 4 year term: Bob Stratton (R), up in 2020

Clerk | 4 year term: Cathy Maleport (R), up in 2020

Treasurer | 4 year term: Marjorie Hank (R), up in 2020

Register of Deeds | 4 year term: Sharon Kennedy (D), up in 2020

Surveyor | 4 year term: William Karr (D), up in 2020

Drain Commissioner | 4 year term: Anthony Stackpoole (R), up in 2020

Commissioners | 2 year term, by district, up in 2020, no term limits

District 1 (City Precinct 3 & part of Precinct 1): Scott Shackelton (R)

District 2 (City Precinct2 & part of Precinct 1): Jim Martin (D)

District 3 (Bruce, Dafter, Soo, and Sugar Island Township): Don McLean (D)

District 4 (DeTour, Drummond, Kinross (part), Pickford and Raber Township): Conor Egan (R)

District 5 (Bay Mills, Chippewa, Hulbert, Kinross (part), Rudyard, Superior, Trout Lake, Whitefish Twp): Robert Savoie (R)



City of Sault Sainte Marie


Mayor | 2 year term: Tony Bosbous, up in 2019

Commissioners | 6 seats, 4 year terms with 3 seats up in 2019 and 3 seats up in 2021

Tim Talentino, up in 2021

Greg Collins (appointed), up in 2019

Don Gerrie, up in 2019

Abby Baker, up in 2021

Kathy Twardy, up in 2021

Shane Miller (appointed), up in 2019


School Boards (various terms)

Brimley: 7 members 6 year term staggered even years

DeTour: 7 members 6 year term staggered even years

Pickford: 7 members 6 year term staggered even years

Rudyard: 7 members 6 year term staggered even years

Sault: 7 members 6 year term staggered even years

Whitefish: 7 members 6 year term staggered even years


Republican and Democrat Precinct Delegates

By precinct (number varies), 2 year term, up in 2020



Supervisor, Clerk, Treasurer, 2 Trustees 4 year terms up in 2020

Townships all up in 2020


Bay Mills Township

Supervisor          Roger Graham (D)

Clerk                     Mary  Swendsen (D)

Treasurer             Dawn A. Recla (D)

Trustee                Ray Baker (D)

Trustee                Daniel Wilcox (D)

The Board of Trustees meetings are held on the 2nd Wednesday of every month in the conference room at the Bay Mills Township Hall.

Bruce Township

Supervisor          Carl Marsh (R)

Clerk                     Wanda Sawyers (R)

Treasurer             Ruth LaJoie (R)Bru

Trustee                Michael Pins (R)

Trustee                Dan Rogers (D)

Regular Meetings of the Township Board are held at 7:00 PM on the second Thursday of each month at the Bruce Township Hall.


Chippewa Township

Supervisor          Brian Mills (R)

Clerk                     Tami L. Beseau (R)

Treasurer             Billie Jo Johnson (R)

Trustee                Amie DuVall (R)

Trustee                Tyler Johnson (R)

Constable            Brian Mills (R)

Phone: (906) 274-5319, need meeting time


Dafter Township

Supervisor          Robert Scott Brown (R)

Clerk                     Jodi Hunter (R)

Treasure              Kareen J Brown (R)

Trustee                Patricia Lynn Lowes (R)

Trustee                Robert St. Peter (R)

Dafter Township Board Meetings are held on the third Tuesday of each month at 7:00 p.m. at the Dafter Township Hall


DeTour Township

Supervisor          Thomas E Lehman (R)

Clerk                     Linda Fisher (D)

Treasurer             Sharon A. Hamel (R)

Trustee                Johnny Fountain (R)

Trustee                Robert Vaught (D)

Meetings are held the 1st Monday of the month @ 5pm Jan-April, @ 7pm June-Dec; 906-297-5471


Drummond Island

Supervisor          Randy Hartman (R)

Clerk                     Jolene Kemppainen (R)

Treasurer             Georgianna Potter (R)

Trustee                Earl Bailey (R)

Trustee                Dwayne R Matkovich (R)

(906) 493-5321, need meeting time/place


Hulbert Township

Supervisor           Norma DeLong (R)

Clerk                     Earl Avery (R)

Treasurer             Patricia Hopper (R)

Trustee                Joan Dewitt (R)

Trustee                Todd Davis (D)

Constable            Thomas Weaver (R)

Phone: (906) 876-2353, need meeting time/place


Kinross Township

Supervisor          Jim Moore (R)

Clerk                     Sheila Gaines (R)

Treasurer            Kathy Noel (R)

Trustee                Marvin Besteman (R)

Trustee                 Jeannie Masterson (appointed 2018)

Trustee                Carla Sare (R)

Trustee                Robert Mills (no party)

Meetings are held 1st and 3rd Monday of the month@ 7pm at the Kinross Charter Township Hall


Pickford Township

Supervisor          Thomas J. Ball (R)

Clerk                     Linda Roberts-Miller (R)

Treasurer             Carol Arbic (R)

Trustee                Kevin R. Decker (R)

Trustee                Travis L. Miller (R)

Meet the second Tuesday of the month @ 7pm at the Pickford Township Hall


Raber Township

Supervisor          Paul A. Warner (D)

Clerk                     Hillary Galarwic (no party)

Treasurer            Leslie A. Opolka (D)

Trustee                Daniel Galarowic (D)

Trustee                Linda Johnson (D)

Meet the second Tuesday of the month @ 7pm at Raber Township Hall


Rudyard Township

Supervisor           Barry D. Davis (R)

Clerk                      Margaret Jarvie (D)

Treasurer             Bruce Berkompas (R)

Trustee                 Jason E. Perkins (R)

Trustee                Amy Miller

Constable            Larry Hough (R)

Meet 3rd Tuesday of the month, April-October @ 7:30pm, November-March @ 6:30pm at Rudyard Community Hall


Soo Township

Supervisor          Larry J. Perron (R)

Clerk                     Andree Watson (R)

Treasurer             Cheryl M. Thorensen (R)

Trustee                James Callon (R)

Trustee                Donald Kucharzcyk (R)

Meet the 2nd Wednesday of the month @ 7pm at Soo Township Hall


Sugar Island Township

Supervisor          Rick D. Roy (R)

Clerk                     Lynda A. Garlitz (D)

Treasurer             Frank J Handziak (D)

Trustee                Kathy Dickey (D)

Trustee                Pat Moher (no party)

Meet 2nd Tuesday of the month 7pm @ Sugar Island Township Hall


Superior Township

Supervisor          Richard Phillips (no party)

Clerk                     William Beaune (D)

Treasurer             Tammy L. Ellis (no party)

Trustee                Paul Fox (no party)

Trustee                George Kinsella (R)

Meet 4th Tuesday of the month @ 6pm at Superior Township Hall


Trout Lake Township

Supervisor          Helen A. Fisher (R)

Clerk                     Kathleen A English (R)

Treasurer             Pamela J Barrett (R)

Trustee                John Robert Clark (R)

Trustee                Laurey Simpson (R)

Meet the 2nd Tuesday @ 6:30pm at Trout Lake Township Hall


Whitefish Township

Supervisor          Darryl Ertel, Jr. (no party)

Clerk                     Wanda M. Knox (R)

Treasurer            Frank Lada

Trustee                Edson Forrester (R)

Trustee               Richard Gratopp

Meet first Thursday of the month @ 7pm at Whitefish Township Community Center.